Author Topic: Looks Like My Bootup Has Changed?  (Read 1456 times)

Offline mrclose

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2237
Looks Like My Bootup Has Changed?
« on: June 04, 2017, 08:27:32 PM »
All Day I fought with this computer to boot!
I would power on and the HD would start to spin and then stop.

It would get to where the screen displayed the computers manufacturer name Lenovo and that is as far as it would go!
I had to use the power button to power off.

I did this a number of times!

I then did the ... Unplug, power on ... HD spin and stop, power off routine over and over.

I tried everything I could think of!

After more than five or six hours ... For no particular reason I unplugged the two bluray usb plugins from the front.

One plugin is for my Microsoft mouse and keyboard, the other is for my Logitech headset.
After unplugging the USBs ... the computer booted right to the desktop??

I'm guessing that the pc was trying to boot from one of the devices but I don't know Why?
I haven't changed any settings and I wouldn't know how anyway?

If the boot startup really has changed from it's original settings, how could I change it back?

If it helps, I am posting what I think are important details about my system?

PC Details:

LENOVO 90BG003JUS Lenovo H50-55
3.50 gigahertz AMD A10-7800 Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G
256 kilobyte primary memory cache
4096 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (2 total)
Hyper-threaded (4 total)

Board: LENOVO Bantry CRB SDK0J40709 WIN
Serial Number: R3028ZHB
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
UEFI: LENOVO IRKT56AUS 01/19/2016

1966.21 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
1828.95 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GHC0N [Optical drive]

ST2000DM001-1ER164 [Hard drive] (2000.40 GB) -- drive 0, s/n W4Z3M94K, rev CC61, SMART Status: Healthy


11212 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory

Slot 'DIMM 3' has 8192 MB (serial number 95A1FC8A)
Slot 'DIMM 1' has 4096 MB (serial number 14CF8CC6)

Online walkstall

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23165
  • Gender: Male
  • WYSIWYG
Re: Looks Like My Bootup Has Changed?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2017, 09:05:41 PM »
I would say your computer was looking for some information from one or both of you bluray usb plugins and could not find it.  On some machines it is loaded from the net after your machine is up and running.  As it could not find the data in needed it just stopped loading until you pulled them out.  After the reboot and you plugged them back in it found the data it need to run them.

I know my computer would not load up my new printer, as it has all the whistle and bells.  I have to go out and find a printer driver and down load it myself.  My computer could not find the drivers for my new printer.  I loaded an old set of drivers for my printer and it worked.  Two day later my printer said it has a new down load for my printer that would make it run better and faster.  Would I like it loaded?  I said yes and it loaded the new driver systems in about 5 min. 

Things that make you go Hmmm......
A politician thinks of the next election. A statesman, of the next generation.- James Freeman Clarke

Politics is supposed to be the second-oldest profession.  I have come to realize that it bears a very close resemblance to the first.  ~ Ronald Reagan ~

Always remember "Feelings Aren't Facts."

Offline mrclose

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2237
Re: Looks Like My Bootup Has Changed?
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2017, 09:59:22 PM »
Strange!

I turned off and then tried to restart the PC and as I suspected it did the same boot to Lenovo screen and stop again.

First a little about the connections.

I have the Logitech USB and the Microsoft mouse and keyboard USB plugged into the two USB ports on the front of my PC.

I shut down the PC and pulled the Logitech USB out of the front and plugged it into a rear port and tried a restart.
No luck.

I then pulled the Microsoft USB out and the computer booted to the desktop!

I had to plug the Microsoft USB into the other port on the back of the computer and as of now, I haven't tried to restart the PC.

I am going to wait until later to see if the PC will boot normally now that I've swapped everything around?
(I have things I need to do and am tired of messing around with it)

None of this happened until today when I tried to power on?

I just don't get it? :cursing:

Online tac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3675
  • Gender: Male
Re: Looks Like My Bootup Has Changed?
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2017, 03:06:01 AM »
It could be a defective USB port. Had that happen on my tower.

Online Solar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 56695
  • Gender: Male
Re: Looks Like My Bootup Has Changed?
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2017, 08:41:47 AM »
When you reboot, hit Del or F2, to enter SETUP. Press this key as soon as you see the DOS screen boot options, or simply hit enter over "Boot Sequence".
Koolaid is for kids, TEA is for adults

Offline mrclose

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2237
Re: Looks Like My Bootup Has Changed?
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2017, 11:14:26 AM »
When you reboot, hit Del or F2, to enter SETUP. Press this key as soon as you see the DOS screen boot options, or simply hit enter over "Boot Sequence".

Solar, stupid me!
I had forgotten that I could use msconfig to get to the computers different settings like start ups and boot sequence!
The boot is in normal start up C: mode and hasn't changed! 8)

I might have the answer to my problem though.

Before I go any further, someone asked me a question in another forum this morning which was:
Quote
Why would you not plug these devices in after you boot up the PC? headset etc.
There are specific ports on the back of most PC towers for each device often color coded devices such as kb, or mouse, headset can be plugged in front.

His question leads me to think that I am confusing some folks?

My answer to this persons question is below.

Quote
My devices run through USB receivers which plug into USB ports!

(No wires)

Well I could unplug the Microsoft wireless keyboard and mouse USB and the Logitech wireless headset USB each time I shut down and then plug them both back in every time I start up but .. Why?

It isn't supposed to work that way which means that there is a problem.

I might have the answer though.

This morning I tried to power on (with both USB devices plugged in) and of course .. the PC hung at the Lenovo screen and wouldn't boot further.

I powered off and unplugged the Logitech device and the PC booted normally ... With the Microsoft keyboard/mouse still plugged in.

Looks like the Logitech headset USB receiver is the problem?

I am still going to have to purchase another keyboard/mouse combo though because the cursor has become almost unmanageable! 8(



Online Solar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 56695
  • Gender: Male
Re: Looks Like My Bootup Has Changed?
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2017, 12:01:29 PM »
Solar, stupid me!
I had forgotten that I could use msconfig to get to the computers different settings like start ups and boot sequence!
The boot is in normal start up C: mode and hasn't changed! 8)

I might have the answer to my problem though.

Before I go any further, someone asked me a question in another forum this morning which was:
His question leads me to think that I am confusing some folks?

My answer to this persons question is below.

Quote
My devices run through USB receivers which plug into USB ports!

(No wires)

Well I could unplug the Microsoft wireless keyboard and mouse USB and the Logitech wireless headset USB each time I shut down and then plug them both back in every time I start up but .. Why?

It isn't supposed to work that way which means that there is a problem.

I might have the answer though.

This morning I tried to power on (with both USB devices plugged in) and of course .. the PC hung at the Lenovo screen and wouldn't boot further.

I powered off and unplugged the Logitech device and the PC booted normally ... With the Microsoft keyboard/mouse still plugged in.

Looks like the Logitech headset USB receiver is the problem?

I am still going to have to purchase another keyboard/mouse combo though because the cursor has become almost unmanageable! 8(
LOL! Logitech!!! I recently had an issue with good ol Logi, something I've never experienced before, that is, until they slipped in some new update, started raising havoc, but aside that, I too had a USB Logitech USB headset, never worked right from day one so I shit canned it and bought some quality headphones.
Oh, I uninstalled the latest update and rolled back drivers, no probs now.
Koolaid is for kids, TEA is for adults

 

Powered by EzPortal